## **Important Legal Notices**

Please read this notice carefully and keep it where you can find it. If you have any questions regarding these legal notices, please contact the Benefits Hotline at 213-388-9982.

# If you (and/or your dependents) have Medicare or will become eligible for Medicare in the next 12 months, Federal law gives you more choices about your prescription drug coverage. Please see page 5 for more details.

# Premium Assistance Under Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP)

If you or your children are eligible for Medicaid or CHIP and you're eligible for health coverage from your employer, your state may have a premium assistance program that can help pay for coverage, using funds from their Medicaid or CHIP programs. If you or your children aren't eligible for Medicaid or CHIP, you won't be eligible for these premium assistance programs, but you may be able to buy individual insurance coverage through the Health Insurance Marketplace. For more information, visit **www.healthcare.gov**.

If you or your dependents are already enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP, and you live in a state listed below, contact your State Medicaid or CHIP office to find out if premium assistance is available.

If you or your dependents are NOT currently enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP, and you think you or any of your dependents might be eligible for either of these programs, contact your State Medicaid or CHIP office or dial **1-877-KIDS NOW** or **www.insurekidsnow.gov** to find out how to apply. If you qualify, ask your state if it has a program that might help you pay the premiums for an employer-sponsored plan.

If you or your dependents are eligible for premium assistance under Medicaid or CHIP, as well as eligible under your employer plan, your employer must allow you to enroll in your employer plan if you aren't already enrolled. This is called a "special enrollment" opportunity, and **you must request coverage within 60 days of being determined eligible for premium assistance**. If you have questions about enrolling in your employer plan, contact the Department of Labor at **www.askebsa.dol.gov** or call **1-866-444-EBSA (3272)**.

ALABAMA – Medicaid	ARKANSAS – Medicaid		
Website: http://myalhipp.com/	Website: http://myarhipp.com/		
Phone: 1-855-692-5447	Phone: 1-855-MyARHIPP (1-855-692-7447)		
	COLORADO – Health First Colorado		
ALASKA – Medicaid	(Colorado's Medicaid Program) &		
	Child Health Plan Plus (CHP+)		
The AK Health Insurance Premium Payment Program	Health First Colorado Website:		
Website: http://myakhipp.com/	https://www.healthfirstcolorado.com/		
Phone: 1-866-251-4861	Health First Colorado Member Contact Center:		
Email: CustomerService@MyAKHIPP.com	1-800-221-3943/ State Relay 711		
Medicaid Eligibility:	CHP+: Colorado.gov/HCPF/Child-Health-Plan-Plus		
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dpa/Pages/medicaid/default.aspx	CHP+ Customer Service: 1-800-359-1991/		
	State Relay 711		

If you live in one of the following states, you may be eligible for assistance paying your employer health plan premiums. The following list of states is current as of July 31, 2019. Contact your state for more information on eligibility.

FLORIDA – Medicaid	NEBRASKA – Medicaid		
Website: http://flmedicaidtplrecovery.com/hipp/ Phone: 1-877-357-3268	Website: http://www.ACCESSNebraska.ne.gov Phone: 1-855-632-7633 Lincoln: 402-473-7000 Omaha: 402-595-1178		
GEORGIA – Medicaid	NEVADA – Medicaid		
Website: https://medicaid.georgia.gov/health-insurance- premium-payment-program-hipp Phone: 678-564-1162 ext 2131	Medicaid Website: http://dhcfp.nv.gov Medicaid Phone: 1-800-992-0900		
INDIANA – Medicaid	NEW HAMPSHIRE – Medicaid		
Healthy Indiana Plan for low-income adults 19-64 Website: http://www.in.gov/fssa/hip/ Phone: 1-877-438-4479 All other Medicaid Website: http://www.indianamedicaid.com Phone: 1-800-403-0864	Website: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/oii/hipp.htm Phone: 603-271-5218 Toll free number for the HIPP program: 1-800-852-3345, ext 5218		
IOWA – Medicaid	NEW JERSEY – Medicaid and CHIP		
Website: http://dhs.iowa.gov/hawk-i Phone: 1-800-257-8563	Medicaid Website: http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/ dmahs/clients/medicaid/ Medicaid Phone: 609-631-2392 CHIP Website: http://www.njfamilycare.org/index.html CHIP Phone: 1-800-701-0710		
KANSAS – Medicaid	NEW YORK – Medicaid		
Website: http://www.kdheks.gov/hcf/ Phone: 1-785-296-3512	Website: https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/ Phone: 1-800-541-2831		
KENTUCKY – Medicaid	NORTH CAROLINA – Medicaid		
Website: https://chfs.ky.gov Phone: 1-800-635-2570	Website: https://dma.ncdhhs.gov/ Phone: 919-855-4100		
LOUISIANA – Medicaid	NORTH DAKOTA – Medicaid		
Website: http://dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/subhome/1/n/331 Phone: 1-888-695-2447	Website: http://www.nd.gov/dhs/services/medicalserv/medicaid/ Phone: 1-844-854-4825		
MAINE – Medicaid	OKLAHOMA – Medicaid and CHIP		
Website: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/public- assistance/index.html Phone: 1-800-442-6003 TTY: Maine relay 711	Website: http://www.insureoklahoma.org Phone: 1-888-365-3742		
MASSACHUSETTS – Medicaid and CHIP	OREGON – Medicaid		
Website: http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/gov/departments/masshealth/ Phone: 1-800-862-4840	Website: http://healthcare.oregon.gov/Pages/index.aspx http://www.oregonhealthcare.gov/index-es.html Phone: 1-800-699-9075		
MINNESOTA – Medicaid	PENNSYLVANIA – Medicaid		
Website: https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/seniors/health- care/health-care-programs/programs-and-services/other- insurance.jsp Phone: 1-800-657-3739	Website: http://www.dhs.pa.gov/provider/medicalassistance/healthinsurancep remiumpaymenthippprogram/index.htm Phone: 1-800-692-7462		
MISSOURI – Medicaid	RHODE ISLAND – Medicaid		
Website: http://www.dss.mo.gov/mhd/participants/pages/hipp.htm Phone: 573-751-2005	Website: http://www.eohhs.ri.gov/ Phone: 1-855-697-4347, or 401-462-0311 (Direct RIte Share Line)		
MONTANA – Medicaid	SOUTH CAROLINA – Medicaid		
Website: http://dphhs.mt.gov/MontanaHealthcarePrograms/HIPP Phone: 1-800-694-3084	Website: https://www.scdhhs.gov Phone: 1-888-549-0820		

SOUTH DAKOTA - Medicaid	WASHINGTON – Medicaid	
Website: http://dss.sd.gov	Website: https://www.hca.wa.gov/	
Phone: 1-888-828-0059	Phone: 1-800-562-3022 ext. 15473	
TEXAS – Medicaid	WEST VIRGINIA – Medicaid	
Website: http://gethipptexas.com/	Website: http://mywvhipp.com	
Phone: 1-800-440-0493	Toll-free phone: 1-855-MyWVHIPP (1-855-699-8447)	
UTAH – Medicaid and CHIP	WISCONSIN – Medicaid and CHIP	
Medicaid Website: https://medicaid.utah.gov/	Website:	
CHIP Website: http://health.utah.gov/chip	https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/publications/p1/p10095.pdf	
Phone: 1-877-543-7669	Phone: 1-800-362-3002	
VERMONT– Medicaid	WYOMING – Medicaid	
Website: http://www.greenmountaincare.org/	Website: https://wyequalitycare.acs-inc.com/	
Phone: 1-800-250-8427	Phone: 307-777-7531	
VIRGINIA – Medicaid and CHIP		
Medicaid Website: https://www.coverva.org		
Medicaid Phone: 1-855-242-8282		
CHIP Website: https://www.coverva.org		
CHIP Phone: 1-855-242-8282		

To see if any other states have added a premium assistance program since July 31, 2019, or for more information on special enrollment rights, contact either:

U.S. Department of Labor Employee Benefits Security Administration www.dol.gov/agencies/ebsa 1-866-444-EBSA (3272) U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services **www.cms.hhs.gov** 1-877-267-2323, Menu Option 4, Ext. 61565

### Women's Health and Cancer Rights Act of 1998 Notice

As required by the Women's Health and Cancer Rights Act of 1998 (WHCRA), each medical plan provides coverage for the following breast reconstruction procedures in connection with mastectomies:

- All stages of reconstruction of the breast on which the mastectomy was performed;
- Surgery and reconstruction of the other breast to produce a symmetrical appearance; and
- Prostheses and treatment of physical complications at all stages of the mastectomy, including lymphedemas.

Coverage is provided in a manner determined in consultation with the attending physician and the patient. The deductible and the copayment requirements that apply to other covered services also apply to these post-mastectomy reconstructive and treatment services. Therefore, deductibles and coinsurance apply. If you would like more information on WHCRA benefits, call your medical plan.

# Medicare Part D

# **Important Notice About Your Prescription Drug Coverage and Medicare**

Please read this notice carefully and keep it where you can find it. This notice provides information about your current prescription drug coverage under the County of Los Angeles (County) *Choices* Plan, the prescription drug coverage that will be provided under *Choices* as of January 1, 2020, and prescription drug coverage available for individuals with Medicare. It also explains the options you have under Medicare prescription drug coverage and can help you decide whether you want to enroll in this coverage. If you are considering enrolling in a Medicare prescription drug plan, you should compare your current coverage, including which drugs are offered and associated costs for those drugs, with the coverage and costs of the plans offering Medicare prescription drug coverage in your area. At the end of this notice is information about where you can get help to make decisions about your prescription drug coverage.

There are two important facts you need to know about your current coverage and Medicare's prescription drug coverage:

- 1. Medicare prescription drug coverage became available in 2006 to everyone with Medicare. You can get this coverage if you join a Medicare Prescription Drug Plan or join a Medicare Advantage Plan (such as an HMO or PPO) that offers prescription drug coverage. All Medicare prescription drug plans provide at least a standard level of coverage set by Medicare. Some plans may also offer more coverage for a higher monthly premium.
- 2. The County has determined that the prescription drug coverage currently offered under Cigna Network HMO, Cigna Select Network HMO, and POS, Kaiser Permanente HMO (Kaiser), ALADS/Blue Cross Prudent Buyer and CaliforniaCare, CAPE/Blue Shield Lite and Classic, and Fire Fighters Local 1014 Medical Plan and the coverage that will be offered under these plans as of January 1, 2020, is on average for all plan participants who participate in any of these health plans expected to pay out as much as the standard Medicare prescription drug coverage will pay, and that such coverage is considered Creditable Coverage. Because all of the health plans available under *Choices* provide Creditable Coverage, you may elect any of these coverage options for the 2020 plan year and not pay a higher premium (a penalty) if you decide to enroll in a Medicare prescription drug plan on a later date, provided that you do not experience a 63-day break in coverage (as discussed in more detail below).

#### When Are You Eligible to Enroll in a Medicare Prescription Drug Plan?

You may enroll in a Medicare prescription drug plan when you first become eligible for Medicare and thereafter during each calendar year from October 15th through December 7th.

If you lose your Creditable Coverage under *Choices* through no fault of your own, you will also be eligible for a two (2) month Special Enrollment Period to enroll in a Medicare prescription drug plan.

# What Happens to Your Current Creditable Coverage if You Decide to Enroll in a Medicare Prescription Drug Plan?

If you participate in any of the Kaiser, Cigna or the ALADS/Blue Cross plans, you may: (1) keep your existing coverage without enrolling in a Part D plan; (2) keep your existing coverage and enroll in a Part D plan as a supplement to that coverage; or (3) drop your existing coverage and enroll in a Part D plan. If you elect Medicare Part D coverage as a supplement to your Kaiser or Cigna coverage, your current coverage will not be affected. Alternatively, if you elect Medicare Part D coverage through Kaiser and also assign Medicare Parts A and B to Kaiser, you will be placed in the Kaiser Sr. Advantage Plan, which will coordinate with Medicare.

If you participate in the Fire Fighters Local 1014 Medical Plan, you may: (1) keep your existing coverage and choose not to enroll in a Part D plan; or (2) drop your existing coverage and enroll in a Part D plan. If you elect Medicare Part D coverage, your coverage under the Fire Fighters Local 1014 Medical Plan will end.

If you do decide to join a Medicare prescription drug plan and drop your current coverage, you and your dependents would be able to re-enroll in the future during a *Choices* open enrollment period.

Please contact the County of Los Angeles Benefits Plan Administrator for more information about what happens to your coverage if you enroll in a Medicare prescription drug plan.

#### When Will You Pay a Higher Premium (a Penalty) to Join a Medicare Prescription Drug Plan?

It is important to note that if you drop or lose your coverage with the County and, although you are eligible to do so, you do not enroll in a Medicare prescription drug plan within 63 continuous days after your current coverage ends, you may pay a higher premium (a penalty) to enroll in a Medicare prescription drug plan on a later date.

If you go 63 continuous days or longer without Creditable Coverage, when you enroll in Medicare prescription drug coverage, your monthly premium may go up by at least 1% of the Medicare base beneficiary premium per month for every month that you did not have such coverage. For example, if you go 19 months without Creditable Coverage, your premium under Medicare may consistently be at least 19% higher than the Medicare base beneficiary premium. You may have to pay this higher premium (a penalty) for as long as you have Medicare prescription drug coverage. Additionally, you may have to wait until the beginning of the next enrollment period for Medicare prescription drug plans (i.e., October 15th) to enroll in the Medicare coverage.

#### For More Information About this Notice or Your Current Prescription Drug Coverage...

Please contact the County of Los Angeles Benefits Plan Administrator at the address listed below or the Benefits Hotline at the phone number listed below for further information.

**NOTE:** You will receive this notice at other times in the future indicating that you may enroll in Medicare prescription drug coverage. For example, you will receive this notice prior to the next annual enrollment period during which you may enroll in Medicare coverage, and you will also receive a notice if your current prescription drug coverage with the County changes. You may request a copy of this notice by contacting the County of Los Angeles Benefits Plan Administrator at the address or phone number listed below.

#### For More Information About Your Options Under Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage...

More detailed information about Medicare plans that offer prescription drug coverage can be found in the "Medicare & You" handbook. If you are eligible for Medicare, you will get a copy of the handbook in the mail every year from Medicare. You may also be contacted directly by Medicare prescription drug plans. For more information about Medicare prescription drug plans:

- Visit www.medicare.gov,
- Call your State Health Insurance Assistance Program (see the inside back cover of your copy of the Medicare & You handbook for their telephone number) for personalized help, or
- Call 1-800-MEDICARE (1-800-633-4227). TTY users should call 1-877-486-2048.

For people with limited income and resources, extra help paying for Medicare prescription drug coverage is available. Information about this extra help is available from the Social Security Administration (SSA) online at **www.socialsecurity.gov**, or you may call them at 1-800-772-1213 (TTY 1-800-325-0778).

Remember to keep this notice. If you enroll in a Medicare drug plan, you may be required to provide a copy of this notice when you join to show that you maintained Creditable Coverage and that you are not required to pay a higher premium amount for coverage (a penalty).

Date: September 15, 2019 Entity providing this Notice: County of Los Angeles Contact: Benefits Plan Administrator Address: 3333 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1000, Los Angeles, CA 90010 Benefits Hotline: 213-388-9982

# **General Information**

The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act ("Healthcare Reform") requires the County to distribute this informational notice. When key parts of Healthcare Reform took effect in 2014, the Health Insurance Marketplace was established where individuals could purchase health coverage. Government subsidies are available for certain individuals who purchase coverage through the Marketplace. You will not be eligible for such a subsidy, however, if you are enrolled in County-offered health coverage. In addition, even if you are not enrolled in County-offered coverage, you will not be eligible for a subsidy if you are offered County-coverage that is both "minimum value" and "affordable." As explained below, County coverage, if available to you, meets the minimum value standard and is intended to be affordable based on your wages. To assist you as you evaluate options for you and your family, this notice provides some basic information about the Marketplace and employment-based health coverage offered by the County of Los Angeles.

#### What is the Health Insurance Marketplace?

The Marketplace is designed to help you find health insurance that meets your needs and fits your budget. The Marketplace offers "one-stop shopping" to find and compare private health insurance options. You may also be eligible for a tax credit that lowers your monthly premium in the Marketplace right away. Open enrollment for health insurance coverage through the Marketplace begins November 1, 2019, and ends December 15, 2019, for coverage starting January 1, 2020. This Marketplace open enrollment is separate from and unrelated to, the open enrollment process for County-sponsored plans.

#### Can I Save Money on my Health Insurance Premiums in the Marketplace?

You may qualify to save money and lower your monthly premium, but <u>only</u> if your employer does not offer you coverage, or offers coverage that doesn't meet certain standards as described below. The savings on your premium that you're eligible for depends on your household income.

#### Does Employer Health Coverage Affect Eligibility for Premium Savings through the Marketplace?

Yes. If you have an offer of health coverage from your employer that meets certain standards, you will **<u>not</u>** be eligible for a tax credit through the Marketplace and may wish to enroll in your employer's health plan. However, you may be eligible for a tax credit that lowers your monthly premium or a reduction in certain cost-sharing if your employer does not offer coverage to you at all or does not offer coverage that meets certain standards. If the cost of a plan from your employer that would cover you (and not any other members of your family) is not "affordable" — that is, it costs you more than 9.5% of your household income for the year — or if the coverage your employer provides does not meet the "minimum value" standard set by the Affordable Care Act, you may be eligible for a tax credit.<sup>1</sup> All County-sponsored health plans meet the "minimum value" standard, and the cost to you of at least one of those plans is intended to be affordable — that is, it is intended to cost you no more than 9.5% of your income, based on your wages.

Note: If you purchase a health plan through the Marketplace instead of accepting health coverage offered by the County, then you may lose some or all of the County contribution (if any) to the County-offered coverage. Also, this County contribution — as well as your employee contribution to County-offered coverage is excluded from income for Federal and State income tax purposes in most cases.<sup>2</sup> Your payments for coverage through the Marketplace are made on an after-tax basis.

#### How Can I Get More Information?

For more information about the coverage offered by your employer, please check your Summary Plan Description or contact County of Los Angeles, Benefits Hotline at 213-388-9982.

The Marketplace can help you evaluate your coverage options, including your eligibility for coverage through the Marketplace and its cost. Please visit **HealthCare.gov** and **CoveredCA.com** for more information, including an online application for health insurance coverage and contact information for a Health Insurance Marketplace in your area.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> An employer-sponsored health plan meets the "minimum value" standard if the plan's share of the total allowed benefit costs covered by the plan is no less than 60 percent of such costs. (Section 36B(c)(2)(C)(ii) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> One exception is contributions to pay for coverage for domestic partners and their children, which are subject to Federal income tax and may be subject to State income tax.

# Information About Health Coverage Offered by Your Employer

This section contains information about any health coverage offered by your employer. If you decide to complete an application for coverage in the Marketplace, you will be asked to provide this information.

Employer Name	<b>Employer Identification Number (EIN)</b>			
County of Los Angeles	95-6000927W			
Employer Address	Employer Phone Number			
3333 Wilshire Blvd. Suite 1000	213-388-9982			
City	State	<b>Zip Code</b>		
Los Angeles	CA	90010		
Who can we contact about employee health coverage at this job? Department of Human Resources - Employee Benefits Division				
Phone number (if different from above)	Email address ebenefit@hr.lacounty.gov			

#### Here is some basic information about health coverage offered by this employer:

□ As your employer, we offer a health plan to:

 $\Box$  All employees.

#### Some employees. Eligible employees are:

All full-time permanent, temporary, and qualifying part-time employees.

#### □ With respect to dependents:

#### We do offer coverage. Eligible dependents are:

Spouse, children, domestic partner, domestic partner's children.

#### □ We do not offer coverage.

# ☑ If checked, this coverage meets the "minimum value" standard, and the cost of this coverage to you is intended to be affordable, based on employee wages.

Even if your employer intends your coverage to be affordable, you may still be eligible for a premium discount through the Marketplace. The Marketplace will use your household income, along with other factors, to determine whether you may be eligible for a premium discount. If, for example, your wages vary from week to week (perhaps you are an hourly employee or you work on a commission basis), if you are newly employed mid-year, or if you have other income losses, you may still qualify for a premium discount.

If you decide to shop for coverage in the Marketplace, **HealthCare.gov** will guide you through the process. Covered California is California's health insurance exchange. Visit **CoveredCA.com** for more information.

### NOTICE REGARDING WELLNESS PROGRAMS

Los Angeles County's Wellness Programs are voluntary wellness programs available to employees enrolled in Cigna, Kaiser and CAPE Blue Shield medical plans. The programs are administered according to federal rules permitting employer-sponsored wellness programs that seek to improve employee health or prevent disease, including the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008, and the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act, as applicable, among others. If you choose to participate in the wellness programs, you will be asked to complete a voluntary health risk assessment or "HRA that asks a series of questions about your health-related activities and behaviors and whether you have or had certain medical conditions (e.g., cancer, diabetes, or heart disease). You will also be asked to complete a biometric screening, which will include tests for body mass index, blood pressure, and a blood test for cholesterol and glucose. You are not required to complete the HRA or to participate in the blood test or other medical examinations.

However, employees who choose to participate in the wellness programs will receive an incentive (such as a gift card or a credit toward a fitness tracking device) with a value of between 25 - 75 for completing the HRA and/or participating in the biometric screening. CAPE Blue Shield members may receive 50 for completing an HRA and up to 100 for logging completion of a daily challenge or recording a step goal using a fitness tracking device. Although you are not required to complete the HRA or participate in the biometric screening, only employees who do so will receive incentives. Neither ALADS Anthem Blue Cross nor Fire Fighters Local 1014 Health Plans offer wellness incentives.

If you are unable to participate in the HRA or biometric screening to earn an incentive, you may be entitled to reasonable accommodation or an alternative standard. You may request a reasonable accommodation or an alternative standard by contacting your medical plan directly. Contact information is included in your Enrollment Highlights Guide.

The information from your HRA and the results from your biometric screening will be used to provide you with information to help you understand your current health and potential risks, and may also be used to offer you services through the wellness programs, such as classes or coaching offered through your medical plan. You also are encouraged to share your results or concerns with your own doctor.

#### **Protections from Disclosure of Medical Information**

We are required by law to maintain the privacy and security of your personally identifiable health information. Although the wellness programs and Los Angeles County may use aggregate information it collects to design programs based on identified health risks in the workplace, the Los Angeles County Wellness Programs will never disclose any of your personal information either publicly or to the employer, except as necessary to respond to a request from you for a reasonable accommodation needed to participate in the wellness programs, or as expressly permitted by law. Medical information that personally identifies you that is provided in connection with the wellness programs will not be provided to your supervisors or managers and may never be used to make decisions regarding your employment.

Your health information will not be sold, exchanged, transferred, or otherwise disclosed except to the extent permitted by law to carry out specific activities related to the wellness programs, and you will not be asked or required to waive the confidentiality of your health information as a condition of participating in the wellness programs or receiving an incentive. Anyone who receives your information for purposes of providing you services as part of the wellness programs will abide by the same confidentiality requirements. The only individual(s) who will receive your personally identifiable health information is a registered nurse, a doctor or a health coach in order to provide you services under the wellness programs.

In addition, all medical information obtained through the wellness programs will be maintained separate from your personnel records, information stored electronically will be encrypted, and no information you provide as part of the wellness programs will be used in making any employment decision. In fact, the County will never receive any health information about you. Appropriate precautions will be taken to avoid any data breach, and in the event a data breach occurs involving information you provide in connection with the wellness programs, we will notify you immediately.

You may not be discriminated against in employment because of the medical information you provide as part of participating in the wellness programs, nor may you be subjected to retaliation if you choose not to participate.

If you have questions or concerns regarding this notice, or about protections against discrimination and retaliation, please contact the Department of Human Resources, Work Place Programs at <u>workplaceprograms@hr.lacounty.gov</u>.